Whole30 – Let the experiment begin

I’ve decided (bravely, naively, insanely?) to go onto the Whole30 program, in a effort to better understand if there are any foods that should be limited/eliminated from my diet increase overall well being. This is quite radical as unlike banting, it expressly forbids alcohol (and I am ashamed to admit it tobacco). Please expect my moods to fluctuate, or potentially deteriorate for the next 30 days!

I was going to start today, however I’ve decided to follow the book to the T as part of the experiment, and it recommends that one should begin with a 7 day meal plan, after which you can make it up as you go along providing you follow their basic Whole30 Program Rules. The 7 day meal plan requires some preparation the day before you start, hence the totally explainable delay tactics, honest! I’ve decided over the next 30 days to work on my general organisational skills, which the book seems to think is quite important for mental well being (de-cluttered mind). Thus, I have decided to embark on a new tact each week as I adjust to (survive) the program.

Week One: 7 day plan, follow the meal plan to a the lettter

This will include preparing food as suggested. I have to be honest I’ve never been one for following instructions, I prefer to wing it and when in doubt (usually at the point of trouble bordering on catastrophe) refer to instructions.

7 day meal plan

Week Two: Use Recipes from Whole30 and create own meal plan

Week Three: Create Own Recipes and Entertain

Week Four: Eat Out on Whole30

It is probably important to note that it is in fact a 30 day program, not a 4 week program. After the initial 30 days there are protocols about reintroducing the verboten foods and assessing how they impact on your body and whether you should continue to eat them, limit them, or restrict them from your diet all together. 

2 thoughts on “Whole30 – Let the experiment begin

Leave a Reply

