Whole30 7 Day Meal Plan – Day Five: Devil may care

Breakfast: leftover Salmon, butternut squash

I woke up this morning thinking that I had a more energy than the day before, so I jumped out of bed determined to have a productive energetic day. I promptly stubbed my little toe on the bed leg, and consequently was back in bed with a pack of peas on my sprained toe. I guessed at that point my day might not be as energetic as I had initially planned. I did manage to make it out for a good bike ride though. What a perfect Sydney winter’s day! It’s day’s like this when you wonder why you would even bother with summer?

For the second day in a row I’ve had very little appetite. Consequently I skipped breakfast, other than a bullet proof coffee.

Lunch: Greek Salad with perfect boiled eggs

As tempting as this sounded, I still had no appetite at lunch time. Eventually around 2pm I decided I should eat anyway, especially as I was planning on navigating Sydney’s roads on two wheels, a feat that takes a lot of stomach at the best of times. Thus, I decided to make the scrambled eggs, steamed spinach and berries that were originally prescribed for breakfast yesterday.

The recipe was really no different to anything one would expect, except for the optional use of coconut cream in the eggs. I added 1 tbs to the eggs, and they did have a good creamy taste, and no discernible coconut taste. I  topped the eggs with some of roasted red pepper sauce and pesto which worked well, and the red pepper sauce complimented the spinach nicely. The original recipe called for the eggs to be cooked for 5-7 minutes. I feel this is too long for any scrambled eggs. Mine took less than one minute, and that included taking them off the heat intermittently (so they do not over cook).

IMG_4869

Pros: Easy, coconut cream worked surprisingly well.

Cons: Recipe times would have been incorrect.

Rating: 6/10

Would I cook it again: Yeah

Dinner: Pork chops and spiced apple sauce

Dinner was very quick and easy, pan seared pork chops finished in the oven. This method of cooking pork chops worked very well. They cooked evenly and nice and juicy.

While the pork chops were in the oven, the recipe said to use the same pan the pork had been seared in and add onion, apple, apple juice, ginger and allspice. This was to be cooked for approximately 5 minutes until the apple was tender. After 15 minutes I gave up and blended the apple mix. It was quite dry so I added a little water. The apples tasted great  but the texture was unusual as there was still quite a bit of crunch.

I placed the pork on a bed of Cos as I was unable to locate frisee, and I still had a lot of cos from previous meals. Probably not the best substitution, I’m sure something more peppery like rocket or even bitter like chicory would have provided a little more oompf to the meal. I’m glad I wasn’t too hungry today as it wasn’t the most filling of the meals I’ve had this week.

IMG_4877

Pros: Good method for cooking the pork. Great spice mix ratio for the apple.

Cons: Recipe times for the apple sauce were off.

Rating: 6/10

Would I cook it again: The pork chops yes.

Leave a Reply

