Whole30 Day Ten: Best Laid Plans

Just as I sat down to eat my lunch today my phone began to ring. A girlfriend wanted to catch up earlier than planned, and in fact she would be at my house in 15 minutes. A new plan was hatched to hit the markets in Bondi.

Pre Whole30 I would have immediately ditched my lunch to save room for the market snacks I would soon be hunting and eating. I realised that to do any activity over meal times on the Whole30 meant that I had to be prepared, as in Girl Scout prepared. Planning my meals, and even more so, planning meals to take with me places is a very foreign concept. I can count on my fingers the amount of times I’ve prepared lunch to take into work the next day, and that number roughly corresponds to the amount of times I’ve left the lunch I pre-prepared at home.

Luckily for me, my lunch today was a simple salad that was easily thrown into some Tupperware, and along with a bottle of lemon and ginger kombucha I was ready to hit the road.

I’d never been to the Bondi markets, which is rather embarrassing considering I’m only a few suburbs over and I consider it my local beach. I had imagined a lot more in the way of fresh produce. In fact, here was none. Fortunately after the markets while strolling around Bondi I stumbled across Harris Farms and bought up large on fresh vegetables.

Breakfast: Boiled Eggs, Mayonnaise, and an Apple

Although I haven’t been eating breakfast most days, this morning that habit had to change as I was embarking on an early morning bike ride. Despite my lack of hunger, I was going to need sustenance not only for energy, but to keep me warm on this crisp winter’s morning.

Lunch: Egg Salad

My doggy bag lunch consisted of eggs, cucumber, celery, tomatoes, red capsicum, and mayonnaise.

IMG_4916

Dinner: Mushroom, Bean, Red Pepper Stir Fry 

It may have been the fresh sea air, but I was ravenous when I got back into the house after my jaunt to the markets, sending all my well intentioned plans for dinner out the window. In my former non-Whole30 life I know I would have been straight down to one of the many take away joints in my neighbourhood to find quick and tasty but negligibly nutritious food. I realized I was still going to have to cook, but the main pre-requisite for the meal had changed to fast.

IMG_4930

As quickly as humanly possible I topped and tailed my beans, and sliced my red peppers and mushrooms. I resisted using any garlic as I was going to need to take some of this express dinner to the library tomorrow. I am a little dubious about the attractiveness of garlic breath in confined spaces (not that this consideration often inhibits me). Instead I opted for the juice and zest of a lemon to lift the dish out of bland ordinariness. Did you notice there how adept I am becoming at planning my meals ahead?

IMG_4932

You may be looking at this meal and thinking “where is the protein?’. Fear not, while in Bondi I’d come across a butcher selling biltong, so I had a healthy serving as an appetizer.

Leave a Reply

